2024 ALUMNI ACHIEVEMENT AWARD NOMINATION FORM

Award Categories

Lifetime Achievement Award

This award recognizes an extraordinary individual who has set an exceptional standard for volunteerism, philanthropy and professional accomplishment, and has been an example for all who follow. It honours a career of highly significant contributions and commitment to the legal community. The recipient must have received a degree from the Allard School of Law or be an honorary alum.

Alumni Award of Distinction

The Alumni Award of Distinction recognizes the outstanding achievements of an Allard School of Law alum (or graduate) whose endeavors in the practice of law, government service, the judiciary, business, legal academe, community service or other areas have brought honor to the school. The recipient need not have previously received public recognition for their endeavors, but must have made a significant contribution to their field. The recipient must have received a degree from the Allard School of Law or be an honorary alum.

Alumni Award for Research

The Alumni Award for Research recognizes a fulltime member of the Allard School of Law whose research achievements have advanced the Faculty's reputation as a leading research institution. The recipient need not be an alum (or graduate) of the school.

Outstanding Young Alumni Award

This award recognizes an alum (or graduate) of the Allard School of Law under 40 years of age or in their first ten years of practice, whose endeavors in the practice of law, government service, the judiciary, business, legal academe, community service or other areas are worthy of recognition and have brought honor to the school. The recipient must have received a degree from the Allard School of Law or be an honorary alum.

Community Award

This award recognizes an alum (or graduate) of the Allard School of Law who has made exceptional, significant and long-standing contributions to the legal community which are worthy of recognition and which have enriched the spirit and fabric of our legal community. The recipient must have received a degree from the Allard School of Law or be an honorary alum.

Selection Criteria

- 1. Awards are not necessarily presented in all categories each year
- 2. More than one award may be presented in any category

Selection Committee

The make-up of the Alumni Award Selection Committee includes:

- four (4) members of the Association Board, recommended by the Association's President
- one (1) individuals appointed by the Dean of the Allard School of Law

PROCEDURES FOR NOMINATION SUBMISSION

Please complete the nomination form fully and legibly and attach/enclose supporting documentation with a reference to the candidate's name on each page. Nomination packages should be submitted electronically to Jennifer Regan, Alumni Relations Manager at the Allard School of Law (regan@allard.ubc.ca). If we feel the nomination package is not complete or informative enough, we may contact you for more information.

Each n	omination package must include:
	a fully completed nomination form
	a brief biographical sketch of the nominee (resumé or curriculum vitae is recommended)
	a clear and concise statement of 300 words or less which indicates why this candidate is deserving of the Alumni Award(s) for which he/she is nominated.
Additio	onal supporting documentation <u>may</u> include:
	letters of reference (maximum 3)
	list of awards or other public recognition
	other information deemed pertinent by the nominator

Confidentiality is assured: nominations will be handled in a professional and secure manner. Nominators may, at their discretion, inform nominees that they have been nominated. The Alumni Association will only notify winners after first informing nominators of the selection.

The Alumni Award Selection Committee will review all nominations and will recommend award recipients for approval by the Association's Board of Directors. Nominations will remain on file for three years.

Send the completed nomination package electronically to the attention of:

Jennifer Regan Alumni Relations Manager Peter A. Allard School of Law regan@allard.ubc.ca

If you have questions, please contact the Allard School of Law at regan@allard.ubc.ca or by phone at 604-822-2584.

Deadline for submission of nominations: November 30, 2023

I hereby nominate the following individual as Lifetime Achievement Alumni Award of Distinction Alumni Award for Research	a candidate for: Outstanding Young Alumni Award Community Award
Title: Surname :	Given Name:
Home Address:	
City: Province:	City: Province:
Postal Code:	Postal Code:
Tel:	Tel:
Email:	Email:
Nominated by:	TOR'S DECLARATION
Title: Surname :	Given Name:
Home Address:	Business Address:
City: Province:	City: Province:
Postal Code:	Postal Code:
Tel:	Tel:
Email:	Email:
Relationship to Nominee:	
Signature of Nominator:	Date:

Previous Winners

Lifetime Achievement Award

The Honourable Steven Point, OBC (2022)

Len Doust, Q.C. (2020)

The Rt. Honourable Kim Campbell, PC CC OBC QC (2018)

Dr. Constance Isherwood, Q.C. (2016)

The Honourable Lynn Smith, QC (2016)

Thomas R. Berger, O.C, Q.C. (2014)

The Honourable Lance Finch, L.L.D. (2013)

Marvin Storrow, Q.C., L.L.D. (2012)

Morley Koffman, Q.C. (2011)

The Honourable Martin Taylor, Q.C. (2009)

The Honourable William Esson (2006)

The Honourable Frank Iacobucci, C.C., Q.C., LL.D. (2005)

Alumni Award for Research

Professor Gordon Christie (2022)

Professor Natasha Affolder (2020)

Professor Benjamin Goold (2018)

Professor Bruce MacDougall (2016)

Professor David G. Duff (2014)

Professor Joost Blom, Q.C. (2012)

Dr. Charles Bourne (2011)

Dr. Catherine Dauvergne (2009)

Professor and Dean Emeritus Bertie McClean, Q.C. (2009)

Professor Susan Boyd (2008)

Dr. Pitman Potter (2008)

Professor and Dean Emeritus Peter Burns, Q.C. (2007)

Dr. Janis Sarra (2007)

Professor J.C. Smith (2007)

Professor Christine Boyle (2006)

Professor Michael Jackson, Q.C. (2006)

Community Award

Michael Bain (2020)

Alumni Award of Distinction

Melanie Ash (2022)

Edwin (Ted) Hawthorne (2022)

Tricia Smith, CM, OBC (2020)

Grand Chief Edward John of the Tl'azt'en Nation (2018)

Ross Beaty (2016)

Michael J. O'Keefe, Q.C. (2014)

Anne M. Stewart, Q.C. (2014)

Megan Ellis, Q.C. (2012)

Bill Everett, Q.C. (2012)

Anna Fung, Q.C. (2012)

William S. Berardino, Q.C. (2011)

Elizabeth M. Vogt (2011)

Trudi Brown, Q.C. (2009)

Richard Peck, Q.C. (2009)

Leonard T. Doust, Q.C. (2008)

Sue Paish, Q.C. (2008)

Warren T. Wilson, Q.C. (2008)

Anne Giardini, Q.C. (2007)

Justice Christopher Hinkson (2007)

Jim Taylor, Q.C. (2007)

Ralston Alexander, Q.C (2006)

Judge Thomas S. Woods (2006)

Outstanding Young Alumni Award

Aminollah Sabzevari (2022)

Adrienne Smith (2020)

Megan Kammerer (2018)

Karey Brooks (2016)

Ryan Dalziel (2012)

Katrina Pacey (2011)

Jamie Maclaren (2009)

John-Paul Boyd (2008)

Miranda Lam (2007)

Sharon Matthews (2006)