Faculty Awards

Graham Reynolds

George Curtis Memorial Award for Teaching Excellence

Awarded to a faculty member by a committee of students and faculty. The award is given on the basis of the professor’s teaching achievement in the Allard School of Law in the two calendar years prior to the award.

2016 – 2017 Graham Reynolds

Assistant Professor Graham Reynolds is this year’s recipient of the George Curtis Memorial Award for Teaching Excellence.

Students describe Professor Reynolds as “a teacher who can build critical competencies within his field, encourage innovation, and build community,” bringing “a rare combination of expertise and mentorship” to the classroom. His teaching “fosters the passions and thinking of students through problem-based learning"; his lectures, delivered with “heartfelt enthusiasm,” a rigorous “attention to pedagogy” and a deep care for the material, “are a collaboration” in which students are encouraged to share their experiences and opinions in discussion and develop skills to contribute productively as part of a team, learning together.

Professor Reynolds teaches and researches in the areas of copyright law, intellectual property law, property law, and intellectual property and human rights. 

Previous George Curtis Recipients

Faculty Scholar Award

The Faculty Scholar Award, generously supported by Harris & Co., recognizes those who consistently give more than their fair share of time and energy to the Allard School of Law. The Faculty Scholar Award is made in memory of James “Jim” P. Taylor, Q.C.  To learn more about Jim’s many contributions to UBC and to the broader world please click here.  

2016-17: Douglas Harris

Douglas Harris was the recipient of the 2016-17 Faculty Scholar Award. This award was made in the name of emeritus faculty member Jim M. MacIntyre, Q.C.

Since joining the Faculty in 2001, Professor Harris’ commitment to teaching, research and service to the law school is highly regarded by students and colleagues alike.  From 2008 to 2013, he served as the Associate Dean Graduate Studies and Research, making a significant impact in` his dedication to developing the graduate program and supporting research.

This past year, he served as the co-secretary of the Appointments Committee during a very busy year, and has been recognized for being largely responsible for the collegial and cooperative atmosphere that the Committee was able to maintain throughout two busy hiring cycles.

Here is a list of past recipients:

In previous years the award was made in the name of an emeritus faculty member whose career at UBC exemplified the purposes of the Award, rotating to a new emeritus faculty member every two years.  Following the passing of James P. Taylor, Q.C. in the fall of 2016, the Award will be made in his name moving forward.

Farris Scholar Award

In 2003, Farris, Vaughan, Wills & Murphy LLP donated $200,000 to the law school to establish an endowment in commemoration of the firm’s 100th anniversary. The endowment supports excellence in teaching and research in the areas of business law and advocacy. Each year, the Farris Scholar gives a public lecture as a memorial to Mr. C. Francis (Frank) Murphy, Q.C. and Mr. Peter W. Butler, Q.C., former partners of the firm.

2015-16: Bruce MacDougall

Professor Bruce MacDougall received the Farris Award for 2015-16 for his research on substantive law topics relating to business, corporate or commercial law. Professor MacDougall presented “The Wonders of the Duty of Honest Performance” at the accompanying Lecture on June 22, 2016.

Bruce MacDougall joined the Allard School of Law as an Assistant Professor in 1988 and became a Professor of Law in 2002. He has been teaching and writing in the area of Contracts, Commercial Law and Human Rights Law for over two decades. A Rhodes Scholar and a member of the bar of British Columbia, he has been actively involved in continuing legal education programmes and has received the Killam teaching excellence award at UBC. Professor MacDougall was Law Clerk to Justice Le Dain at the Supreme Court of Canada. He is a member of the Judicial Council of the Tsawwassen First Nation.

Here is a list of past recipients:

Arnold Fine

Adam Albright Award

2016 – 2017 Arnold Fine

An alumnus of the law school (LL.B.’80), Arnold Fine has served as an Adjunct Professor at the Allard School of Law since 2006. Students who have taken his upper level course on Financing Transactions speak eloquently of the insight and inspiration he brings to teaching the law. Nominations for this year’s award note his effectiveness at conveying the core principles of the subject in the classroom and his care for his students—all the while maintaining a comfortable, even entertaining learning environment!

Arnold Fine was featured in the Spring 2015 Alumni Magazine.